Index Cover

Read Me


[read-me].txt
A brief explanation of this data set (generated by ASCix)

This set of files is intended to be decipherable it by intuition alone but, if not, this file may prove useful

The overriding feature of this data set is that each file is named by a strictly enforced formula and each is accompanied by a shadow file with the same name but having an additional extension, in this case, "..TIK"
The shadow files are in ASCII text format and will be readable by any text editor. They contain the following information

  • File: The name of the file they describe
  • SrcFile: The original name of the file before it was catalogued and renamed
  • Code: The primary key under which that file was catalogued
  • Number: A unique number for that code (mostly there to ensure that the names are unique)
  • Var: A user defined variable
  • Keywords: These may further describe the object described in the file
  • Caption: A brief description of the object described in the file
  • Comments: Another brief description of whatever the person cataloguing thought was important
  • Author: The user ID of the person responsible
  • Date: The date assigned to the fiile by the person Cataloguing
  • The data set was put together based on the configuration file described in "___READ-ME.CSV" which should also be in this directory, the sections of which will be described below.

    The first section is of little interest, being the parameters with which the data set was created.
    The exceptions are:

  • UseCart: If this is True there should be HTML pages somewhere with the data somewhat formatted
  • CartCaptionExt: The extension of the Shadow files
  • NameStructure: Describes how the file name was derived from the information in the shadow file
  • @ the meaning of the codes needs to be described

    [codes]
    The list of codes used as the primary key followed by a short title
    [keywords]
    The list of keywords
    [people]
    The list of Authors including ID, First Name, Last Name & Contact info
    [extensions]
    A list of the file extensions used and the preferred editor of the person cataloguing


    [read-me].csv
    Date 23/05/2005 7:13:16 AM
    ConfigFile Z:\ARIS05\Z_ARIS05.cpk
    ConfigDir Z:\ARIS05
    CatalogDir Z:\ARIS05\catalogue
    SourceDir C:\Aris05\SPN\SOURCE
    CatDir C:\Aris05\USED
    RejDir C:\Aris05\REJECT
    ReportsDir Z:\ARIS05\reports
    UseCart True
    CartSoftwareDir C:\carthtml
    CartConfigFile Z:\ARIS05\Z_ARIS05.CH1
    CartIndexFile ARIS05.CH2
    CartTitle ARIS05 Heritage Recording
    CartSourceDir Z:\ARIS05\catalogue
    CartHtmlDir Z:\ARIS05\HTML
    CartCaptionFile TIK
    CartCaptionFields Caption
    CartFrame Article
    NameStructure 3|:|_|*|-|2|\2|/2
    MdbDir C:\ASCix\ASCix.mdb
    [codes]
    aag Antonio Almagro Gorbea
    ARIS03 ARIS03
    ARIS05 ARIS05
    calibration Camera Calibration
    data Data Management
    herculaneum Herculaneum
    iccrom ICCROM
    mercanti Piazza Mercanti
    mosaic Mosaic Studio
    necropolis The Necropolis
    stcecilia Santa Cecilia
    topo Topography
    us Participants
    [keywords]
    StCecilia
    Vatican
    [people]
    AAG Antonio Almagro Gorbea aalmagro@cica.es
    AAV Ana Almagro Vidal aav@iccrom.org
    AHU Ayad Hussen ayadtb@yahoo.com
    CBO Claude Borg cborg@mcr.edu.mt
    EVI Enrique Vivoni evivoni@uprrp.edu
    GAW Getu Assefa Wondimu getu76@yahoo.com
    GBA Guliz Bilgin Altinoz bilgin@arch.metu.edu.tr
    GCH Geofree Chikwanda cgeofree@hotmail.com
    IOD Ishanlosen Odiaua iodiaua@yahoo.com
    KBA Kaisa Barthuli kaisa_barthuli@nps.gov
    KRO Karolina Romaszko ka.romaszko@wp.pl
    MMC Maria Mata Caravaca mmc@iccrom.org
    MNA Mitsuru Nagao nagao@bunka.go.jp
    PSH Peter Shenouda peter_s@link.net
    RRE Rand Eppich reppich@getty.edu
    SMS Sahrudin Mohamed din6361my@yahoo.com
    SPN Steve Nickerson steve@icomos.org
    SPU Shachar Puni shachar@israntique.org.il
    WFE Wajira Ferdinandez wajiraf@hotmail.com
    ZMI Zorana Milosevic spomenici@cg.yu
    ZPA Zoran Pavlov pavlovz@mt.net.mk
    [extensions]
    JPG C:\Program Files\Paint Shop Pro 6\Psp.exe
    TIF C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop 5.5\Photoshp.exe
    TXT notepad.exe
    [End]

    Files Referenced for "[read-me]"
  • [READ-ME].TXT
  • [READ-ME].CSV


  • Up Index Cover

    Inquiries to:

    Generated by: CART
    (Mon May 23 11:35:37 2005 )